Skip to content

Why I like ‘Mayil’

May 8, 2012

I finally finished reading ‘Mayil will not be quiet’ by Sowmya Rajendran & Niveditha Subramaniam last week. Though it takes only a couple of hours, I just couldn’t finish reading it at one go because I started reading it on a working day. I finally finished reading it in intervals like a bed time story!

This is what I liked about Mayil.. If you have not read the book, please read no further. You don’t want to spoil the fun for yourself by reading this before reading the original, do you?

  1. Mayil brought back memories of my adoloscent years.  When I was 10 or 12, all I used to read were books by ‘foreign’ authors, which were mostly available. What ever books were available by ‘Indian’ authors were mostly classics. To read a contemporary diary of an Indian girl by Indian authors was so refreshing and created an instant connect.
  2. Loved it that Mayil likes ‘vendakka’-not ‘Lady’s finger’ or “Bhindi’ but plain, old ‘vendakka’- that’s such a favourite with kids and was mine too!
  3. Topics like ‘sex’, ‘transgenders’ have been handled so well with so much sensitivity.
  4. Was heartening to notice that Mayil did not own a mobile phone! Such a relief!
  5. Loved her mom’s character as well. Now that I am a mom, I could identify with her mom as well! Now, I don’t remember when was the last time I could identify with both daughter(child) and mom(adult)character in a book.
  6.  Curiosity about boys, admitting that in a diary, and then feeling embarrassed about it are so familiar and made me nostalgic.
  7. Yes, the ‘High Quality Pure Veg’ mention didn’t miss my eyes 😉 But why though? just curious..

I think I can go on, but let me just stop here. Was disappointed that the diary was only for a year or so, but hope there is a sequel to it soon.

I have already intoduced the book to S. The day I got it, she was cranky and was throwing a tantrum. I just showed her the book and told her that I have got it for her and she could read it when is 10 years old. She calmed down for some time,hugged the book close to her and then started looking at the illustrations. I am sure she would love the book too.

As they say, last , but not the least, loved Sowmya’s dedication line ‘And for M, for believing that I already am the best.’ That made me feel so sentimental. S. & N., you gals rock!

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Thanks for the review 🙂 Sorry, was having internet issues and managed to comment only now! Glad you enjoyed reading it!

You say..

