Skip to content

Down memory lane..

August 3, 2012

Five years ago, around this time ( end of July, to be a bit more precise πŸ™‚ ) I got my first pregnancy confirmed. I suddenly feel like reviving my old memories about those days. Blame it on nostalgia!

Though it was a planned pregnancy, I wonder how I just didn’t check the very first day I missed my period. Or for the next ten days. Partly because I Β was recovering from UTI and reasoned that the antibiotics I had taken must have somehow delayed my period. And V was out of country on an official trip. So what? I wanted him to buy the pregnancy test kit ! I had only read about it, never seen it or bought it. So, was hesitant Β to buy it by myself. But since the first reason of antibiotics was strongly entrenched in my mind, I decided to wait for V.

We were in Chennai then. We were to visit my parents in B’lore as soon as V came back from his trip. So, he bought the kit the night that we were to travel and I decided to use it the morning we reached B’lore. We were pretty excited by then and I wonder how I even slept that night in the train!

I had informed my amma that I had missed my period and she had suggested that if it was still delayed even when I had reached B’lore, we would visit the gynaecologist. But V and I couldn’t hold ourselves till the afternoon or evening to meet the doctor and wanted to use the kit by ourselves first in the morning.

So, when I reached my Parents’ home, I managed to lock myself in the loo after the initial round of catching up with everyone at home. I had asked V to wait in the room upstairs as I went to the attached toilet. It took a few seconds for me to register that the test had come positive! I honestly don’t know how to describe how I felt. I guess I was relieved that the intended agenda had been accomplished πŸ˜‰

V was as expected, very excited. He kept asking if it was really positive and I showed him the test strip. We even took a snap of the strip on his mobile. We just hugged and spent some time in silence. Next came the dilemma of how to break the news to our families. I was the first among my cousins to get married and the only one to have been married at the time I got pregnant. So, I was kind of clueless about how to break the news to my family. I think I had this predicament since I knew neither amma nor my aunts had used a preg. test kit and I was unsure how they would react to this way, as the accepted and conventional way back then in our family had been getting it confirmed by a doctor. Now it seems so funny that I even had such thoughts but that’s how it was then.

I asked V to go down first. I wanted Β a few minutes to myself . I could hear my assembled family ask V what was I Β doing and he replied that I was in the loo! My chittappa and athai had also come home as it was my paternal grandmother’s devasam ( annual death ceremony) the next day. IΒ  could hear my family discussing which doctor to go to for the check up. When I came down, amma was curious as to what I had been up to. It felt a bit weird not to disclose the truth to her. They were all excited and decided to check with our family doctor first.

Amma called her up and told her about my condition. And guess what she told? To first use a pregnancy test kit and then consult a gynaec. based on the result! I felt sheepish when amma announced this. I decided to play along. V was again assigned the task of procuring a test kit that day. For V and me, it took all our self control to keep the good news to ourselves for one whole day

I ‘ officially’ tested positive the next day with the kit. Everyone was happy and we decided to go to the gynaec. also. At the hospital, my gynaec. asked me if I had got the test strip along. I hadn’t but showed her the picture of the one we had clicked during our ‘surreptitious’ test. She asked me if I wanted to get it tested in the lab also. I agreed and got another positive that day. Three positives in two days for one pregnancy! Anyway, it just made the pregnancy all the more memorable πŸ™‚

From → Life

8 Comments
  1. I can totally understand how it must feel now to think of those beautiful memories of the past – that too of the first pregnancy!! πŸ™‚

    All I want to say now is – happy motherhood πŸ™‚

  2. Hey you have such a sweet story, brought smile to my face!!!!
    The moment when you find out that you have your baby in your tummy is really very special πŸ™‚

  3. Nice story πŸ™‚ I am sure this little secret will bring a smile on your and V’s face everytime you discuss it πŸ™‚

  4. lovely post. memories are beautiful, aren’t they? especially when it’s about something so special.

You say..

